2023 Dorothy Christie Scott Award Winner

Dr. Schempf headshot

Dr. Tadhg Schempf is the 2023 winner of the Dorothy Christie Scott award.

A Pittsburgh native, he graduated summa cum laude and Phi Beta Kappa from the University of Pittsburgh with a BS in Neuroscience. He graduated from New York University School of Medicine, receiving Alpha Omega Alpha and Valedictorian honors.

Dr. Schempf completed his Ophthalmology residency at UPMC, where he operated as Co-Chief Resident. His research pursuits in medical school have included projects investigating social determinants of health in glaucoma, effectiveness of tele-health care, retinal imaging modalities, oculoplastic surgical approaches, and IOL techniques, resulting in several peer-reviewed articles. He also takes part in community outreach efforts including the Guerilla Eye Service and Mission of Mercy. He will be starting his glaucoma fellowship at UPMC in July.

The Dorothy Christie Scott award was endowed by her late husband Glenwood in honor of his wife’s many years of providing vision care to the community. Dr. Scott — who passed away in 2002 — was the first female resident in the ophthalmology training program at Eye and Ear Hospital, the first female president of the medical staff at St. Francis, and the first woman president of the Pittsburgh Ophthalmology Society.

Dr. Scott made annual treks to the British West Indies throughout her career to provide treatment to residents who otherwise wouldn’t have access to vision care. Because of this dedication to the community, this award is given to a University of Pittsburgh Ophthalmology resident who has shown the same dedication to providing care for underserved populations.

Congratulations, Dr. Schempf!